Startups and Work-Life Balance

Startups have an exceptionally strong appeal, a unique ethos.  However, joining a startup is not for everyone.

Some see starting or joining a startup as the best way to attain fabulous wealth, have access to really important problems, and learn a ton at a really quick pace.  However, some warn that startups are risky, naming lack of job security and lack of work-life balance as undesirable qualities intrinsic to the startup employee’s life.

Perks are often part of the appeal of startup culture.  However, the more skeptical have implied that perks are a means of keeping employees at work.  This makes sense, as making work a great place to be increases the odds that someone will stay there longer.  However, I feel that these perks are not causative of people spending a lot of time at work, but rather they allow people to be happier while they are spending a lot of time at work.  A lot of people working in startups will be extremely passionate about the mission of the company, and will likely spend a lot of time at work as a result.  These perks may have the consequence of people having little life outside of work, but I think they support those who will be committing their life to the company regardless.

Perks at a startup versus work-life balance at many larger companies are one of the personal decisions that everyone must make for themselves.  As Ross Williamson so cleverly put it: “only you can know what’s best for you.”  I think that this is important to remember when there is a lot of hype around startups, when many people would be much happier joining an MNC and climbing the corporate ladder.

As for me, I’ve chosen to join a company with a definite startup culture.  Palantir is a privately owned tech company, replete with all the perks that some would claim are a means of begging me to never leave work.  So I know that maintaining work-life balance is going to be a challenge, and avoiding burnout is important.

Andrew Dumont nicely summarizes what are a few commonly touted ways of avoiding burnout.  I have already started attempting to avoid burnout during my last semester here at Notre Dame, and I’ve gotta say that it’s been tough.  I’ve been attempting to follow all the best practices of avoiding burnout – working out, pleasure reading, taking time for myself / leisure / play, and eating healthy – and I still struggle to motivate myself to continue my academic focus.

Marissa Meyer asserts that people “can work arbitrarily hard for an arbitrary amount of time, but they will become resentful if work makes them miss things that are really important to them.”  I think this perfectly describes my attitude at the moment.  I kind of feel like I’m in purgatory, waiting to pay my dues until I can move on to greener pastures.  I somewhat resent being held in class when I could be doing great work at Palantir (and getting paid for it).  I’m trying to soak up my last semester with my friends, but spending time in class isn’t stimulating like it once was.

So when I go to work next year, I’ll continue working out, reading, and eating healthily.  I just have to trust that I’ll find my work more stimulating than my current academic pursuits.

Leave a comment